Return to the MLC

Munster Literature Centre




Read the latest issue

Southword Journal Online

of Southword Journal Online.



Munster Literature Centre
MLC on Facebook
Create your badge











The Cork City - Frank O'Connor Short Story Award


The Seán Ó Faoláin Prize



The Munster Literature Centre is pleased to announce the winner of the 2010 Cork City-Frank O'Connor Short Story Award has gone to



Ron Rash, 2010 FOC Award Winner





Read the announcement on the Guardian books page.

Read the announcement at the Irish Examiner.


In 2000, the Munster Literature Centre organised the first Frank O'Connor International Short Story Festival, an event dedicated to the celebration of the short story and named for one of Cork's most beloved authors. The festival showcases readings, literary forums and workshops. Following continued growth and additional funding, the Cork City Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award was introduced in 2005, coinciding with Cork's designation as that year's European Capital of Culture. The award is now recognised as the single biggest prize for a short story collection in the world and is presented at the end of the festival. Previous winners have included Haruki Murakami (Japan),  Jhumpa Lahiri (USA) and Simon Van Booy (UK). On two occasions the award has gone to an author for their first book: Yiyun Li (China) in 2005 and Miranda July (USA) in 2007.

The 2010 judges are author Mary Morrissy, arts journalist Nadine O'Regan, and Small Wonder festival director Diana Reich. The shortlisted collections are If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This (Picador UK, 2010) by Robin Black, Mattaponi Queen (Graywolf Press, 2010) by Belle Boggs, Wild Child (Bloomsbury, 2010) by TC Boyle, The Shieling (Comma Press, 2009) by David Constantine, Burning Bright (HarperCollins, 2010) by Ron Rash, What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us (Dzanc Books, 2009) by Laura van den Berg.




The winners of the 2010 Sean O'Faolain Competition are:


Nikita Nelin


First Prize: Nikita Nelin's 'Eddie'


Second Prize: Bernie McGill's 'No Angel'


Congratulations! Their stories, and those of the other highly commended authors (Dave Wilson, Shannon Cain, Serge Shea & Judy Crozier) will be published in the next issue of Southword Journal Online.


View more commended authors on the judge's long list at Tania Hershman's blog 'Titania Writes'.


Read Nelin's blog on his festival experience as the Seán Ó Faoláín prize winner.


In 2002, the Munster Literature Centre introduced the Seán Ó Faoláin Short Story Prize, an annual short story competition dedicated to one of Ireland's most accomplished story writers and theorists. This too is presented during the FOC festival. The centre also hosts the Cork Spring Literary Festival each year.

Past prize-winners include Alexa Beattie, Julia Van Middlesworth, Toby McGrath, Joyce Russell, James Moynihan, Jon Boilard & William Wall. This year's judge is author Tania Hershman.


The 2010 Seán Ó Faoláín Prize Shortlist

Please note that the final results will be posted online after the official announcement at the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Festival, 19 September 2010. We regret that we cannot respond to any further queries regarding the competition until that time.


In alphabetical order by author's surname:


'Falling' by Elizabeth Baines--Manchester, UK

'We Call this Living; or, Ghosts' by Mac Barrett--Brooklyn, NY, USA

'Red Flyer' by Tom Bryan--Kelso, Scotland

'Ramon' by Shannon Cain--Tuscon, Arizona, USA

'The Tale End' by Susan Kim Campbell--Marina Del Rey, California, USA

'Sidetrack' by Judy Crozier--Preston, Victoria, Australia

'I Want You to Say It' by Alyn Fenn--Schull, Co. Cork

'Mamma' by Julia Gwynne--London, UK

'On the Night South Africa is Effectively Eliminated from the World Cup' by Liesl Jobson--Plumstead, South Africa

'La Cumparsita at Paris Charles de Gaulle' by Claire King--Los Masos, France

'Afterlife' by Wes Lee--Kilbirnie, Wellington, New Zealand

'Seeing Things' by Deena Linett--West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

'No Angel' by Bernie McGill--Portstewart, Co Derry, Northern Ireland

'You Would Feel Your Heart Fall Over' by Sarah Frost Mellor--Bristol, UK

'Sparrow' by Nora Nadjarian--Nicosia, Cyprus

'Eddie' by Nikita Nelin--Brooklyn, NY, USA

'Advice and Sandwiches' by P.G. O'Connor--Castleconnell, Co Limerick, Ireland

'Tarts' by Paul O'Reilly--Enniscorthy, Co Wexford

'Advice re Elephants' by Jonathan Pinnock--St. Albans, Hertfordshire, UK

'Boa Constrictor' by Analisa Raya-Flores--Los Angeles, California, USA

'The Opposite of Fog' by Sara Kay Rupnik--Richmond, Virginia, USA

'Sleeping with the Brothers Karamzov' by Terre Ryan--New York, NY, USA

'The Capital of Thailand' by Serge Shea--Brooklyn, NY, USA

'Man is Born to Trouble as the Sparks Fly Upwards' by Terese Svoboda--New York, NY, USA

'Big Bitchin' Cow' by Dave Wilson--Norwich, UK

'Ex-Boyfriend in Prison' by James Armour Young--Recife, Brazil



Back to top.



Arts Council



The Munster Literature Centre





Cork City Council





Festivals Cork





Cork County Council





US Embassy Dublin






















































The Munster Literature Centre

Frank O'Connor House, 84 Douglas Street, Cork, Ireland.

Tel. (353) 021 4312955, Email: munsterlit(AT)eircom(DOT)net

Irish Registered Charity No.12374