Return to MLC homepage.

Munster Literature Centre



Read the latest issue.

Southword Journal Online














Spring Literary Festivals Past


MLC Eigse 2006MLC Eigse 2007MLC Eigse 08Eigse 2009



The Munster Literature Centre has been holding a Spring Literary Festival since 1993. However, in previous years the festival was called 'Éigse' (an Irish word meaning a gathering of poets and writers). In years past, the festival included a chapbook competition called ‘Fool For Poetry’,which has been replaced this year by the Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize for a single poem. We have, however, kept the Éigse tradition of giving the Festival a 'theme'. Past themes have included 'Dinnsheanchas: Lore of Place' (2010), 'Humour & Irony' (2009), 'Belief & Unbelief' (2008), 'War & Politics' (2007) and 'Love & Desire' (2006).



Authors who have appeared previously at our festival include:



From America: Ilya Kaminsky, August Kleinzahler, Darcey Steinke, Brian Turner, Martín Espada.

From Britain: Colette Bryce, Rev. Jim Cotter, Toby Litt, Sarah Maguire, Fiona Pith-Kethley, Dan Rhodes, Neil Rollinson, Jo Shapcott, John Hartley Williams.

From Asia: Amir Or, Shan Sa, Yang Lian, Yasuhiro Yoshimoto.

From Europe: Andres Ehin, Barbara Korun, Ileana Malancioiu, Haaken Sandell, Hansjorg Schertenleib.

From Ireland: Ciaran Carson, Mary Morrissey, Colm Toibin, Hugo Hamilton, J.P. Donleavy, Bernard MacLaverty, Patrick Galvin, Alan Titley, Mary Leland, Dennis O'Driscoll, Glen Patterson, Kerry Hardie, Medbh McGuckian, Marie Heaney, Mary O'Malley, Conal Creedon and many, many others.


Back to top.



Arts Council Ireland



Munster Literature Centre



Cork City Council



Festivals Forum



Cork County Council



Culture Ireland




Foundation for Dutch Literature




















































The Munster Literature Centre

Frank O'Connor House, 84 Douglas Street, Cork, Ireland.

Tel. (353) 021 4312955, Email: munsterlit(AT)eircom(DOT)net

Irish Registered Charity No.12374