Return to MLC homepage.

Munster Literature Centre



Read the latest issue.

Southword Journal Online











Cork Spring Literary Festival 2011THE CORK SPRING








Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Prize    


The Munster Literature Centre is pleased to announce a new international poetry prize for single poem (established in 2010), named in honour of a late Irish poet long associated with the Centre. The Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize will have a first prize of €1,000 (on 1 October 2010 approx. US$1365 or UK£850) and publication in Southword Literary Journal. The MLC will subvent travel costs for the winner up to €600 and provide hotel accommodation and meals for three days during the Cork Spring Literary Festival. There will be a second prize of €500, third prize of €250, and ten runners-up will each have their poems published in Southword and receive Southword’s standard fee of €30. A shortlist will be posted on our website in late January and the winners will be announced during the Cork Spring Literary Festival itself. (The winning & commended authors will be contacted personally in mid to late January).



The O'Donoghue Prize shortlist:


In alphabetical order by author:


Marina Blitshteyn (New York, USA), 'Winding the Watch'

Mike Casey (Co. Dublin, Ireland), 'Bulloch Harbour, Winter 09'

Magdalena Cullen (Cork, Ireland), 'Two Things'

Caroline M Davies (Bedfordshire, UK), 'At Sea'

Peggie Gallagher (Sligo, Ireland), 'In Her Later Years'

Noel King (Co. Kerry, Ireland), 'Danger'

Jim Maguire (Wexford, Ireland), 'Water Ghosts'

Michael McKimm (London, UK) 'The Ice Harvest'

Patrick Moran (Co. Tipperary, Ireland), 'So Much'

Tadhg Russell (Co. Cork, Ireland), 'Superstition'

Tadhg Russell (Co. Cork, Ireland), 'The Wood'

KC Trommer (New York, USA), 'First Map'

Sandra Ann Winters (North Carolina, USA), 'Death of Alaska'





The 2011 Judge


Leanne O'Sullivan judges the Gregory O'Donoghue Poetry Competition 2011


The current judge, Leanne O'Sullivan, comes from the Beara Peninsula in West Cork and was educated at University College Cork. She has published two collections, both from Bloodaxe Books, Waiting for My Clothes (2004) and Cailleach: The Hag of Beara (2009). She has been anthologised in collections such as The New Irish Poets (ed. Selina Guinness) and Best Irish Poetry (ed. Matthew Sweeney). She has won first prize in the Seacat poetry competition, the RTE Rattlebag Poetry Slam and the Davoren Hanna Award for Young Emerging Irish Poet, and was the recipient of the 2009 Ireland Chair of Poetry bursary. Residencies and festival readings have taken her to France, India and China, amongst other locations. She is current poetry editor for Southword Literary Journal (beginning with issue 19, due out in late December 2010).


Last Year's Winners


John F Deane

Siobhan Campbell, 2nd prize, 2010 Gregory O'Donoghue CompetitionPatrick Deely, 3rd prize winner in the 2010 Gregory O'Donoghue poetry competition






(From left to right): John F. Deane, 1st Prize for 'Shoemaker'; Siobhan Campbell, 2nd Prize for 'Clew Bay from the Reek'; Patrick Deely, 3rd Prize for 'Geezer'.


View the winning poem being read at last year's festival here.




Back to top.



Arts Council Ireland



Munster Literature Centre



Cork City Council



Festivals Forum



Cork County Council



Culture Ireland




Foundation for Dutch Literature























































The Munster Literature Centre

Frank O'Connor House, 84 Douglas Street, Cork, Ireland.

Tel. (353) 021 4312955, Email: munsterlit(AT)eircom(DOT)net

Irish Registered Charity No.12374