Southword Editions


Chapbooks   |  Translations
Southword: New International Writing


Published from 2007 - 2010, the Best of Irish Poetry anthology series presented the best Irish poems, in both English and Irish, published in the previous year. Selected from a pool of several hundred published candidates, these represent the top fifty poems of the year. Best of Irish Poetry / Scoth na hÉigse is indispensable for every poetry enthusiast.

**Special Offer 3 for 2 on Best of Irish Poetry titles**

Choose Payment Option


best of 2007

Best of Irish Poetry 2007

Southword Editions, 2006
Editors: Colm Breathnach and Maurice Riordan

Choose Payment Option
 Includes works by Eavan Boland, Colette Bryce, Moya Cannon, Harry Clifton, Michael Davitt, Gerald Dawe, John F. Deane, Greg Delanty, Paul Durcan, Leontia Flynn, Eamon Grennan, Vona Groarke, Kerry Hardie, Seamus Heaney, Rita Ann Higgins, Biddy Jenkinson, Thomas Kinsella, Nick Laird, Michael Longley, John McAuliffe, Tom McCarthy, Derek Mahon, Dorothy Molloy, Patrick Moran, Paul Muldoon, Gerry Murphy, Dairena Ní Chinnéide, Nuala Ní Dhomnaill, Gréagóir Ó Dúill, Catríona O'Reilly, Gabriel Rosenstock, Matthew Sweeney, Richard Tillinghast, David Wheatley and many others.


best of 2008

Best of Irish Poetry 2008

Southword Editions, 2007
Editors: Thomas McCarthy and Bríd Ní Mhóráin

Choose Payment Option

Includes works by Ciaran Carson, Pádraig J Daly, Gerald Dawe, Louis de Paor, Greg Delanty, Theo Dorgan, Vona Groarke, Kerry Hardie, Seamus Heaney, Thomas Kinsella, Seán Lysaght, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, Paula Meehan, John Montague, Gerry Murphy, Ceaití Ní Bheildiún, Áine Ní Ghlinn,Mary O'Donnell, Bernard O'Donoghue, Dennis O'Driscoll, Liam Ó Muirthile, Leanne O'Sullivan, Billy Ramsell, Cherry Smyth, Gerard Smyth, William Wall, David Wheatley, Enda Wyley and many others.


best of 2009

Best of Irish Poetry 2009

Southword Editions, 2008
Editors: Paul Perry and Nuala Ní Chonchúir

Choose Payment Option

Includes works by Ciaran Carson, Harry Clifton, Vona Groarke, Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Thomas McCarthy, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, Paula Meehan, Sinead Morrissey, Paul Muldoon, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Bernard O'Donoghue, Dennis O'Driscoll, Liam Ó Muirthile, Leanne O'Sullivan and others.


Best of Irish Poetry 2010

Best of Irish Poetry 2010

Southword Editions, 2009
Editor: Matthew Sweeney

Choose Payment Option

Includes works by Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Paul Muldoon, Michael McKimm, Leanne O'Sullivan, Leontia Flynn, Eva Bourke, Kerry Hardie and many others.


New Eyes on the Great Book

New Eyes on the Great Book

Southword Editions
48 pages
€12 (international postage included)


New Eyes on the Great Book by Divers Hands includes exciting new work by twenty-six Cork poets commissioned to respond to the Great Book of Ireland. All twenty-six poets are themselves not included in the Great Book, either due to age, publishing history or anomaly. Among the contributors are Leanne O’Sullivan,  Matthew Sweeney,  James Harpur, Doireann Ní Ghríofa,  Graham Allen, Mary Nooan and many others. The poets were selected by Graham Allen and Patrick Cotter. Graham Allen has also contributed a lively and informative introduction. The book is published by Southword Editions and is a joint initiative of the School of English University College Cork and The Munster Literature Centre. The project was wholly funded under the DUETS scheme. DUETS is funded by University College Cork’s Strategic Research Fund.





Poems from Pandemia
Anthology callout

Deadline: 31st August




Fool for Poetry
Chapbook Competition

Deadline: 31st August

ffp promo



Subscribe to Southword
Issue 39 (October 2020)




Southword Editions
Chapbooks 2020

The King of The Lam
Greg Delanty



Audrey Molloy



Heather Treseler




MunsterLit Youtube
Every Monday & Friday




O'Faoláin Short Story
Prize Reading Playlist



O'Donoghue Poetry
Prize Reading Playlist



How to Write Titles




Essays & Blogs
In Praise of Celan




Munster Literature Centre
is a constituent member of



The Munster Literature Centre

Frank O'Connor House, 84 Douglas Street, Cork, Ireland.

Tel. (353) 021 4312955, Email: info@munsterlit.ie

Irish Registered Charity No.12374